The Crown

4.7
80 reseñas
Hasta 25 £
Británica

Etiquetas principales:

Mejor del vecindario
Ideal para la comida
Apto para gourmets

Precauciones de seguridad

Limpieza y desinfección
  • Las superficies se desinfectan después de cada cliente
  • Las áreas comunes se limpian a fondo diariamente
  • Se proporciona una carta digital, desinfectada o desechable
  • Gel desinfectante o toallitas a disposición de los clientes
  • Se ofrece pago sin contacto
Distanciamiento físico
  • Limitación en el número de comensales sentados
  • Distanciamiento en las áreas comunes
  • Espacio extra entre mesas
Equipo de protección
  • Los camareros usan mascarilla
  • Los clientes deben llevar mascarilla salvo cuando estén comiendo o bebiendo
Comprobaciones
  • Si algún miembro del personal se pone enfermo, no puede incorporarse al trabajo
Lo que opinan 80 comensales
Valoraciones y reseñas generales
Solo pueden enviar reseñas los comensales que hayan probado este restaurante.
4.7basado en calificaciones recientes
4.6
Comida
4.6
Servicio
4.5
Ambiente
4.2
Valor
Ruido · Energético
El 98 % de las personas se lo recomendarían a un amigo
Ordenar por
Filtros
F
Fleur
Oxford
2 reseñas
Comieron el 24 de diciembre de 2020
Global5Comida5Servicio5Ambiente5

We had a lovely Christmas Eve meal. Peter was an exceptional member of the team who really did look after us!

Denunciar
ET
EmmaT
Londres
3 reseñas
Comieron el 24 de diciembre de 2020
Global3Comida2Servicio5Ambiente3

We have really enjoyed eating here since Hook Norton took over and were looking forward to a last meal out on Xmas Eve before ‘lockdown’
Delightful service as usual but ambiance was really flat.
Food definitely below par and presentation the same. I’m not going to go into detail because I realise it’s so difficult for the industry at the moment and we were keen to show our support for a local business. Here’s hoping they have got their mojo back after lockdown.....

Denunciar
AK
AlisonK
Oxford
1 reseña
Comieron el 24 de diciembre de 2020
Global5Comida4Servicio5Ambiente5

We enjoyed a lovely Christmas Eve meal there. The atmosphere was lovely, food and service was excellent and I love the decor too!

Denunciar
BT
BrendanT
Londres
7 reseñas
Comieron el 23 de diciembre de 2020
Global4Comida4Servicio5Ambiente4

Got the clementine creme brûlée and blood orange sorbet this time. Excellent!

On a different note-could do with a bit more lighting on the way to the door. It’s a bit daunting for the elder when it’s dark.

Denunciar
SW
SueW
Oxford
2 reseñas
Comieron el 23 de diciembre de 2020
Global5Comida5Servicio5Ambiente5

Another excellent meal. Delicious duck breast. Beautifully presented and good service. Good luck during the next T4 session. We will be back for takeaway.

Denunciar
PC
PhilC
Oxford
1 reseña
Comieron el 22 de diciembre de 2020
Global5Comida4Servicio4Ambiente5

This was my local for 35 years before retiring to France. What a transformation, it is a warm friendly place with good service, very good food and could be rated one of the best in South Oxfordshire with time. I had lunch with my 2 sons and grandson and we all agreed the food was excellent. We will definitely return....

Denunciar
DM
DerekM
Bedfordshire
1 reseña
Comieron el 20 de diciembre de 2020
Global5Comida5Servicio5Ambiente5

Excellent breakfast with friendly service overall a good experience

Denunciar
JH
JudithH
Oxford
1 reseña
Comieron el 19 de diciembre de 2020
Global4Comida4Servicio5Ambiente5

Really lovely food and warm cosy atmosphere. The beef and Stilton pie was delicious. Amazing Swedish winter punch cocktail! Thank you. X

The Crown
Respondió el 22 de diciembre de 2020

Thank-you for this lovely review! We have passed on your compliments to our wonderful kitchen team who have worked hard to develop our new menu focusing on local ingredients as well as ensuring during this winter period our wonderful customers can enjoy hearty meals. We've also passed on your compliments to our bar team who have also worked hard to create our great cocktail menu. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Denunciar
BT
BrendanT
Londres
7 reseñas
Comieron el 19 de diciembre de 2020
Global4Comida4Servicio5Ambiente4

Another visit and all good! The duck liver main course was delicious!

Denunciar
AM
AnnaM
Oxford
1 reseña
Comieron el 19 de diciembre de 2020
Global5Comida5Servicio5Ambiente4

Very friendly staff ready to accomodate all needs and wishes. The food was amazing and they made sure it fit my dietary requirements without any hussle.

Denunciar
CK
ChristopherK
1 reseña
Comieron el 17 de diciembre de 2020
Global5Comida5Servicio5Ambiente5

It was a very pleasant experience eating lunch at the Crown... the beer was good too!

The Crown
Respondió el 22 de diciembre de 2020

Thank-you for this lovely review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your overall experience visiting The Crown inn at Benson. The feedback about the beer is always appreciated as we are proud to be part of The Hook Norton brewery family. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Denunciar
JF
JonF
Oxford
2 reseñas
Comieron el 16 de diciembre de 2020
Global5Comida5Servicio5Ambiente5

Had a meal at The Crown on Wednesday evening. The staff were really welcoming and had organised the tables to comply with social distancing and the Covid restrictions.
The manager was really helpful in finding me a vegan soup as their usual soup of the day contained cheese.
Overall the food and beer were excellent and we'll definitely be going back

The Crown
Respondió el 18 de diciembre de 2020

Thank-you for this lovely feedback Jon. We are so pleased you felt comfortable with the adaptions we have made to ensure our customers and team feel safe during these very uncertain times. The team are delighted to receive the feedback as we like to ensure we serve excellent drinks as well as excellent food

Denunciar
DP
DinahP
Londres
1 reseña
Comieron el 14 de diciembre de 2020
Global5Comida5Servicio5Ambiente4

Very warm welcome. Excellent food. Pleasant environment. Friendly hospitality.

The Crown
Respondió el 22 de diciembre de 2020

Thank-you for leaving this wonderful review. Here at The Crown inn at Benson we are so proud of what we have achieved so far since opening our doors. I have passed on the kind words to our amazing front of house team and the compliments to our kitchen team. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Denunciar
PA
PATS
Oxford
1 reseña
Comieron el 13 de diciembre de 2020
Global5Comida5Servicio5Ambiente5

Delicious Sunday roast followed by apple crumble! I think this is becoming our favourite place to visit.

The Crown
Respondió el 16 de diciembre de 2020

Thank-you for leaving this lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoy your visits and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Denunciar
HP
HelenP
Oxford
2 reseñas
Comieron el 12 de diciembre de 2020
Global5Comida5Servicio5Ambiente5

Amazing evening. This our 2nd visit. Food was amazing, service was really good. Our waiter was really friendly and attentive. Will definitely go back!

The Crown
Respondió el 16 de diciembre de 2020

Thank-you so much for the kind comments and lovely feedback we really appreciate it! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Denunciar
AM
AlisonM
Oxford
1 reseña
Comieron el 12 de diciembre de 2020
Global5Comida5Servicio5Ambiente5

Since the Crown has had a 'make-over' it has really changed the ambience and mood of the venue. The food is delicious (I can really recommend the duck) and there is a large choice of wines and gins.
The service was also excellent and we could not fault their attention to our every need throughout the meal.
Although the food was absolutely delicious it was probably a little more than we would normally spend. Definitely a perfect pub to visit for a special occasion.

The Crown
Respondió el 16 de diciembre de 2020

We are so pleased you are enjoying the new and improved Crown inn at Benson. We've passed on your kind words to our excellent front of house team and our incredible kitchen teams who are all so passionate about delivering the best customer service they can. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Denunciar
SR
SamR
Edimburgo
1 reseña
Comieron el 12 de diciembre de 2020
Global5Comida5Servicio5Ambiente5

A fantastic three course meal with excellent service from the polite, diligent staff.

I will definitely be back!

The Crown
Respondió el 16 de diciembre de 2020

Thank-you for this lovely review; we are so pleased you enjoyed your recent visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Denunciar
KW
KarenW
1 reseña
Comieron el 12 de diciembre de 2020
Global5Comida5Servicio5Ambiente5

Yet again another amazing meal in a wonderful newly refurbished local pub! we had a wonderful time my mother also has dietary requirements which were organised before we have arrived and the food was absolutely outstanding. once we can go back to normality we will be back again!! Thank you :)

The Crown
Respondió el 16 de diciembre de 2020

Thank-you for leaving this great feedback; we are so pleased you are enjoying your new local. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Denunciar
DJ
DavidJ
Londres
1 reseña
Comieron el 11 de diciembre de 2020
Global4Comida4Servicio4Ambiente4

Pub has been nicely refurbished. Plenty of welcome from the friendly team of staff. Good menu and wine list. Will certainly visit again.

The Crown
Respondió el 15 de diciembre de 2020

Thank-you for this lovely review we really appreciate the feedback. We've passed the compliments onto our fantastic kitchen team and front of house. We hope to see you again soon.

Denunciar
MB
MickB
1 reseña
Comieron el 9 de diciembre de 2020
Global5Comida4Servicio5Ambiente5

Lovely meal would go again and nothing more to say

The Crown
Respondió el 13 de diciembre de 2020

We are so pleased you enjoyed your over all experience here at The Crown inn at Benson. Reviews like this make us feel so proud of all our incredible team. We hope to see you again soon.

Denunciar
PF
PeterF
Surrey
1 reseña
Comieron el 9 de diciembre de 2020
Global4Comida4Servicio4Ambiente3

Great food and good food but spoilt by awful background music

The Crown
Respondió el 13 de diciembre de 2020

Hi there, Thank-you for leaving this review. We are pleased you enjoyed your food but we are so sorry to hear you didn't enjoy the background music. We do reflect upon our music playlists throughout service and this is something that is adjusted according to times etc. We do hope you visit again and hope you'll enjoy yourself next time.

Denunciar
DD
DeniseD
Hampshire
1 reseña
Comieron el 6 de diciembre de 2020
Global5Comida5Servicio5Ambiente5

Will definitely be returning. One of the nicest roast dinners we’ve had in a pub. The service and the atmosphere was really very good too!

The Crown
Respondió el 9 de diciembre de 2020

Thank-you for leaving this lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed every element of your experience here at the Crown inn at Benson. We've passed the feedback to the wonderful chef team, the bar staff and our great front of house team . We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Denunciar
BT
BrendanT
Londres
7 reseñas
Comieron el 6 de diciembre de 2020
Global4Comida4Servicio5Ambiente4

Second visit to the revamped and reopened Crown. Very good Sunday lunch. Great service.

The Crown
Respondió el 9 de diciembre de 2020

Thank-you for leaving this lovely review ; we are really pleased you enjoyed your recent visit. We hope you stop by again and try our main menu as well as some fabulous hook norton beers!

Denunciar
PA
PATS
Oxford
2 reseñas
Comieron el 5 de diciembre de 2020
Global5Comida5Servicio5Ambiente5

We have lived in the area for 14years but never visited the Crown until the new management took over. Apparently it has been totally revamped. We didn’t see it before but now it’s a very pleasant place done to a high standard. The food is amazing. Absolutely no complaints. Competitively priced for the area. Staff were excellent. Covid guidelines adhered to. Felt very safe. Highly recommend.

The Crown
Respondió el 10 de diciembre de 2020

Thank-you so much for this fantastic review. We are all so pleased you felt safe and welcomed in our beautiful pub. Reviews like this mean so much to us because it proves all our hard work and dedication is working. We really look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Denunciar
GH
GeoffreyH
Oxford
1 reseña
Comieron el 5 de diciembre de 2020
Global4Comida4Servicio4Ambiente4

It was a very nice evening and the food was flavoursome and beautifully presented although the starter of Gravidlax was very meagre and lacked dill weed. Our only reservation was that there was a long wait between starter and main course but the staff’s apology and the offer of free drink or dessert more than made up for it. My companion really enjoyed the chicken and leek pie and I thought the duck breast, the sauce and the vegetables, really marvellous. Being deprived of ‘dining out ‘ it was such a pleasure to visit The Crown again .

Denunciar
NT
NicolaT
Oxford
1 reseña
Comieron el 5 de diciembre de 2020
Global5Comida5Servicio5Ambiente5

Really looked after us well and fab food. Definitely worth a visit

The Crown
Respondió el 10 de diciembre de 2020

Thank-you for this lovely review. We have passed on your kind words to the fantastic kitchen team as well as our wonderful front of house team! We hope to see you again soon.

Denunciar
OT
Comensal de OpenTable
Edimburgo
1 reseña
Comieron el 4 de diciembre de 2020
Global5Comida5Servicio5Ambiente4

A rare occasion for me and my husband to have date night without kids, fantastic evening. Great cocktails and great food!

The Crown
Respondió el 7 de diciembre de 2020

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed a rare date night and decided to visit The Crown inn at Benson to enjoy your evening together. We really hope you visit again soon.

Denunciar
j
juhu
Norfolk
3 reseñas
Comieron el 3 de diciembre de 2020
Global5Comida5Servicio5Ambiente5

The food was excellent. I had the mackerel to start with. Perfectly cooked with crispy skin. For the main course I had the duck. Again perfectly cooked and delicious. In particular I was very impressed with the cocktails I had. So often cocktails are a disappointment. Not these. They were excellent. I went for the Winter Punch and then (instead of pudding) After Eight . My partner said his steak was the best he has had for a long time.

The Crown
Respondió el 7 de diciembre de 2020

Thank-you for visiting The Crown inn at Benson and taking time to leave this wonderful review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your food and our bespoke cocktail offerings. Our front of house and kitchen team are so pleased to receive positive feedback like this. We really hope to see you again soon!

Denunciar
TS
TerryS
Oxford
1 reseña
Comieron el 4 de noviembre de 2020
Global5Comida5Servicio5Ambiente5

This was my second visit to the crown and both time I’ve been impressed by the welcoming staff and gorgeous food! Will definitely be going back!

The Crown
Respondió el 14 de noviembre de 2020

Thank-you for leaving this lovely review; we are so pleased you enjoyed your second visit. We are so pleased you found the entire experience to be welcoming and enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back when it is safe to do so. Take care!

Denunciar
LB
LukeB
Oxford
1 reseña
Comieron el 4 de noviembre de 2020
Global2Comida2Servicio2Ambiente2

Very expensive for the quality of food. I'd go for a drink and that's it.

Denunciar
NC
NigelC
Oxford
1 reseña
Comieron el 4 de noviembre de 2020
Global4Comida4Servicio4Ambiente4

They had run out of most of the beers, due to not restocking pre lockdown, which is understandable. Overall a very nice evening

The Crown
Respondió el 14 de noviembre de 2020

Thank-you for leaving this lovely review and being so understanding regarding our drinks offer the day you visited. We found ourselves in the difficult scenario of wanting to give our customers a great experience whilst trying to protect our beers from potentially being wasted due to the recent lock-down. We hope you will be back to visit us again once this lockdown has been lifted. Take care and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Denunciar
SW
SueW
Oxford
3 reseñas
Comieron el 3 de noviembre de 2020
Global5Comida5Servicio5Ambiente5

Lovely atmosphere and good food with cheerful staff. This our 4th visit in a month.

The Crown
Respondió el 14 de noviembre de 2020

Thank-you for leaving this wonderful review; we are so pleased to hear you are enjoying visiting the Crown. We are so pleased you have enjoyed all four of your visits and we home there will be many more visits to come. We are so pleased of our wonderful team who are full of energy and smiles on a daily basis. We hope you stay safe and look forward to welcoming you back when it is safe to do so.

Denunciar
RS
RobS
Londres
1 reseña
Comieron el 3 de noviembre de 2020
Global5Comida5Servicio5Ambiente5

This place has been transformed and this is shown by the uptake of people visiting. It is now a real gem in our village. Excellent food with some nice menu choices as well as those that will cater to the more traditional tastes. Beer is good and well kept. Staff attentive. They have a winning combination. Just a shame lockdown has happened again.

The Crown
Respondió el 14 de noviembre de 2020

Thank-you for taking the time to leave this lovely review. We are so pleased to read just how much you enjoyed your visit to The Crown inn. The support from the wonderful community in Benson has been incredible and it makes us even prouder to now be part of this village. We are running a take-away/ delivery menu so until we can safely welcome you back in the Crown at least you can enjoy our lovely Hooky Norton beers and great food at home. Stay safe and we will see you soon.

Denunciar
G
Gembo
Londres
1 reseña
Comieron el 3 de noviembre de 2020
Global4Comida4Servicio5Ambiente5

Lovely refurb, great ambience, excellent service. Expensive though. High end restaurant prices for what is essentially just good pub grub.

The Crown
Respondió el 14 de noviembre de 2020

Thank-you for leaving this review we are really pleased you enjoyed your over all visit. In reflection of the comment regarding our prices we must firstly say we are sorry you feel this way however our General Manager and our wonderful Head Chef spent a lot of time considering pricing for the dishes. Due to using seasonal, local and high quality products there were lots of things to consider. We hope you will visit again once its safe to do so. Take care.

Denunciar
J
Jenny
Oxford
1 reseña
Comieron el 2 de noviembre de 2020
Global5Comida5Servicio5Ambiente5

Absolutely loved our meal and lovely atmosphere! The service was fantastic and I am looking forward to going again post lockdown! :)

The Crown
Respondió el 14 de noviembre de 2020

Thank-you for leaving this excellent review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit ; reviews like this make all the hard work so worth it. We really hope you stay safe and look forward to welcoming you back when it is safe to do so.

Denunciar
JE
JEANNE
Oxford
1 reseña
Comieron el 2 de noviembre de 2020
Global5Comida5Servicio5Ambiente4

The food was excellent and the service. I loved the pudding and my husband enjoyed the Hook Norton beer.

The Crown
Respondió el 14 de noviembre de 2020

Thank-you for leaving this lovely review; we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your over-all visit. It is really great to hear that you enjoyed your pudding and your husband enjoyed our fabulous range of Hook Norton Beers. We are very pleased to have our Hook Norton beers available in bottle form at the moment . We hope you will visit again soon and look forward to welcoming you both.

Denunciar
HS
HollyS
Oxford
1 reseña
Comieron el 31 de octubre de 2020
Global5Comida5Servicio5Ambiente5

Great evening at the Crown thank you. Great service, Delicious food and a great atmosphere! What more could you ask for? Perfect.

The Crown
Respondió el 14 de noviembre de 2020

Thank-you for leaving this excellent review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit. It sounds like you had a great time and this makes all our hard work worth every second. We really hope that we will be welcoming you again when it is safe to do so. Take care!

Denunciar
RW
RobinW
1 reseña
Comieron el 31 de octubre de 2020
Global5Comida4Servicio5Ambiente4

Nicely refurbished and very welcoming, staff worked hard and were friendly, food is very very tastey, maybe slightly over priced but still highly enjoyable...will deffinately use again Covid permitting....glad to have it open in the Village, much needed

The Crown
Respondió el 14 de noviembre de 2020

Thank-you for this lovely review we are pleased you enjoyed your visit and found our team friendly and hard working. Sorry to hear you think the menu is slightly over priced- we spent a lot of time reflecting on this. Due to using local producers including butchers who supply us with excellent selections we do have to take this into consideration. However we are currently running a take-away/ delivery service with some of the dishes from our main menu as well as some different items.

Denunciar
SL
StephenL
Londres
1 reseña
Comieron el 31 de octubre de 2020
Global5Comida5Servicio5Ambiente5

Excellent pub all round. Great beer selection and food was very nice

The Crown
Respondió el 14 de noviembre de 2020

Thank-you for leaving this excellent review. We are so pleased you not only enjoyed our beer selection which was carefully selected prior to opening but you also enjoyed the delicious menu. We look forward to welcoming you back when it is safe to do so. Take care!

Denunciar
AB
AnnabelB
1 reseña
Comieron el 30 de octubre de 2020
Global5Comida5Servicio5Ambiente5

Great atmosphere, excellent service and absolutely delicious food! Cannot wait to visit again!

The Crown
Respondió el 14 de noviembre de 2020

Thank-you for taking the time to leave this lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your meal and that you found the customer service to be excellent. We are so proud of our wonderful team here at The Crown inn at Benson. We look forward to welcoming you again when it is safe to do so. Take care during these uncertain times!

Denunciar

Preguntas frecuentes

The Crown ofrece comida para llevar, que puedes encargar llamando al restaurante al 01491 528930.

The Crown tiene una calificación de 4.7 estrellas, según 80 comensales de OpenTable.

Por norma general, puedes reservar en este restaurante en OpenTable eligiendo la fecha, la hora y el tamaño del grupo. Debido a las restricciones locales, es posible que este restaurante no acepte reservas por el momento.